Governor to Decide Fate of Bill to Allow Adopted Adults Access to Their Birth Certificates

By Marie DeNoia Aronsohn

A bill, 31 years in the making, that would allow adopted adults to access a copy of their original birth certificates now awaits action from Governor Christie.  The legislation has been wrought with emotional debate for and against opening this information. Now it’s up to the Governor who has said he is undecided about whether to sign or veto the bill.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

3 Responses to Governor to Decide Fate of Bill to Allow Adopted Adults Access to Their Birth Certificates

  1. Robert J. Chastang says:

    Please sign this bill into law. Every person has the right to their original birth certificate. This is a right that all but adopted adults have. Please correct this injustice.

  2. Ann-Marie Kennedy says:

    I am an adoptive mom and my daughter should have a right to her original birth certificate, period. I have no right to take that away from her. I am her mom, but she has a bigger story and she is entitled to it all.

  3. Robert R. Devine says:

    Please sign this bill into law. I have a right to know the facts of my birth, and my children have a right to know the biological facts of those who came before them. I was also the father of a child placed for adoption (in New York) and I and my missing daughter and her four children have found each other because that state recognizes the rights of adoptees.

Leave a Reply

